Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Don’t Give Up — Persevere!

19 Comments

Hello there.

First of all, wow, what a grand opening!  Over 400 hits today (and there are still four hours left to push that number up) I never expected it to get so close to Raining Water’s opening (500).  Thanks! =]

A few weeks ago my class went on a wilderness camp and had to survive – in drenched tents in the middle of nowhere – for four days.  Treacherous stuff.

We all learnt a huge life lesson that week.

Abseiling.  We had to abseil down a 50 metre cliff.

I saw a dozen of my valiant classmates descend down the cliff with ease, so I felt positive.  When I reached the edge, though, it was a different story.  I peered over the mountain.

I froze white with fear.

“I can’t do this,” I said to myself.  What happened to all the positive energy inside of me?  How could it just vanish from sight.

“Hurry up and go,” the instructor yelled.  I leant back.  I hesitated to take my first bounce down.

When I did – Kabam!  I drove my knee into the hard, unforgiving rock face.

How easy would it be to just give up and forget about this?  Extremely easy.

But I knew I had to do this.  I knew I had to abseil down this cliff no matter what.

I regained balance.  And down I went to the bottom of the cliff.

As I took off my harness and gazed up at the cliff, the monstrosity of what I had accomplished hit me.  I did it.  I persevered and made it through.

Remember, even though things may seem impossible, don’t give up and make sure to persevere and keep going.  Anything is possible if you put your mind to it.

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a final year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies. He enjoys eating ice cream, jamming to Taylor Swift, and procrastinating on readings.

19 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up — Persevere!

  1. I will promise never ever to give up.

  2. How I just refresh this blog a zillion times? xD

  3. Omg, that happens to me, I go skiing in Colorado EVERY year, and every time I come across a really steep slope,as im trying to go down, im full to negative thoughts, my legs start to cramp up, and I fall. After I loosen up and forget about how scary it would be, I just flew down the mountain to get it over with. I did it, and Looked up. It was HUGE! Im seriously talking HUGE! I couldn’t believe I did it! But I did, and I wanted to do it again 😀

  4. And the reason there wasnt a protected post on my site is because we have such a diffrence in time zone tht it posted at midnight my time and I just woke up and made the protected post and scattered the candy, so, its ready for when u read this if you want to participate.

  5. Your hits are big. Good for you, i added you to my blogroll.
    My site is:
    It would be nice if you returned the favour by adding me to your blogroll.
    Josh’s Response:
    Don’t advertise, please.

  6. Hey!
    Thanks for inviting me to your blog.
    This blog looks cooler than the first (no offence lol)
    Keep visiting mine!: imagineaworld.wordpress.com.

    Btw, I’ve added you to my blogroll.

    -xMr Fun

  7. Mr Funguin, visit my site at and put it on your blogroll. I’ll put your site on my blogroll within the next 5 minutes, so you can even wait if you want. By the way, wicked site.
    Josh’s Response:
    Don’t advertise. Ever.

  8. Great message! Sometimes it feels like running away from your fears is the easy way to go, but once you think about it facing your fear will pay off in the longrun.
    I forgot to mention in my last comment: I love the name of your blog! Very cool!

  9. First of all, ‘grats on the 400 hits in the opening day O=

    Secondly, that was a very interesting story. Things like that happen to me all the time. When I was little, I always wanted to go skiing, but the first time I saw the big hill, I decided I couldnt do it.

    It’s also interesting how your class went on a field trip for four days 😛

    Bones979
    shrugging
    Josh’s Response
    It was a camp =p

  10. I went skiing, but that didn’t end up well. I crashed and broke a leg. I was to scared to go down at first, so when I actually WENT down I tried to climb back up. And well, I kinda broke my leg doing that.

  11. Woo, snaps to you. I hate absailing, rock climbing is more of my thing. We went on survival camp two years ago… I got sick, so it kinda sucked. But in retrospective I guess it would’ve turned out ok if I hadn’t gotten so injured.
    Anyway, congrats on the hits. 🙂

  12. So much already…

  13. Hello, I’ve just had a look at your previous blog, and boy, WAS IT GREAT! Oh, and I think of your dreams of becoming a writer might come true. Nice word useage!

  14. Wow, what luck.
    I’m on the same time as you.
    Josh’s Response
    Pssst – I see your I.P. Addresses…it’s no use impersonating someone else an aussie guy =p

  15. Aww man!

  16. Oh, and I made this guy up.
    Josh’s Response:
    Hahaha, I figured ;]

  17. Reminds me of some other time when we were both on.

  18. I hate heights.

  19. Pingback: Face Those Fears! « Tinted Lens ~

Share your thoughts!

