Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Game Review: Just Dance (Wii)

17 Comments

Ni hao!

~*_*~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Game Review: Just Dance (Wii)

Credit for pictures

Just Dance Boxshot

The cover for Just Dance

Just Dance isn’t one of those games that you are going to play hardcore.  It isn’t a game that will tell you if you are an awesome dancer or not.  It isn’t a game with lots of features.  But this game is a great game to play and lots of fun.

The main menu has a few options.  Quick Play, Challenge and Warm-Up are the notable ones, but for some reason Warm-up, which they recommend you start off doing, is towards the bottom.  I suppose it is for ease of access for the quick play menu.

I think the warm-up is a waste of time.  The only warming up of our legs that we actually do is moving our hips from side to side.  But they suggest it is necessary, so I guess you are better off wasting your time doing it.

The Challenge menu is pretty bland, with boring “challenges”.  Chances are you’ll spend most of your time playing in Quick Play mode, which is definitely the best mode.

Choose your song to dance to!  On the next screen you need to choose an icon so you know which bar is yours when you dance.  They range from a simple cat to perfume to a broken cassette.

Put simply, all you have to do to score is follow the dancers moves.  The main dancer [complete with an appropriate outfit for the song] does the dance moves.  Underneath them is a scrolling bar with mini pictures showing you what the next action is and when to do it – when it reaches the arrow.

Image 13

Follow the dancer's moves!

You get points depending on your timing and execution of the action – GREAT, OKAY or BAD.  You get different amount of points for each.  Your points are displayed above a bar.  The aim is to get the bar full – reaching 10000 points.

Alot of the time the game doesn’t recognise your actions and timing which is very frustrating.  However, this isn’t a game where you can play sitting down, you actually have to stand up, which is cool.

The notable songs on the game are Hot & Cold by Katy Perry, Wanna Be by the Spice Girls, Rednex’s Cotton Eye Joe and Kylie Minogue’s Can’t Get You Out Of My Head.  The songs come in many varieties, from pop to country to rock to “tribal”.

This is a great game to play at parties and lots of fun.

Score: 8.5/10

~*_*~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Josh ~

Happy Valentines’ Day ♥

Author: Josh

Josh is a final year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies. He enjoys eating ice cream, jamming to Taylor Swift, and procrastinating on readings.

17 thoughts on “Game Review: Just Dance (Wii)

  1. I have a Wii, and it is my absolute love. But I prefer Smash Bros. I just like hitting things, what can I say?
    I haven’t played this one though, but I think if I did my Dad would have even more ammo to tease me with! He thinks I look really silly when I play Wii. And I probably do!

  2. I will think about buying this game! I need some games for my wii 🙂

  3. Sorry I haven’t been around here in a while, Josh!
    Been having family problems that result in me getting my computer taken away 😦

  4. I like the buttons on the games page. 🙂

  5. Lol! Squishy, have you unlocked all the characters?

    I’m having a hard time getting Jigglypuff (that Pokemon…)! lol

    Wait… So is this game supposed to be an imitation of DDR (check it out at Galactic Circus, Josh :P) or something?

    Oh, Josh, do you have your Myki yet? I got mine, but I’m not too sure if I should top it off with the yearly. :S

  6. No! The characters are killer to unlock. I mean, I’ve got a few, but I haven’t gotten jigglypuff yet. 😥
    have you played it on Nintendo 64? Ahh, good times. 🙂

  7. Lol Squishy, I have it on the 64 haha. But not on the Wii.
    Phi, I honestly don’t use transport, I have no need for it [lol] so I don’t have a myki.

  8. I had a maths teacher named Mrs. Mykl.

  9. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability
    and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a fantastic job with
    this. Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on
    Chrome. Outstanding Blog!

  10. Attractive portion of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession
    capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment or even I fulfillment you access consistently quickly.

  11. I just couldn’t leave your site before suggesting that I actually loved the usual information an individual supply on
    your guests? Is going to be again incessantly to investigate cross-check new posts

  12. Hi, after reading this awesome article i am as well cheerful to share my
    familiarity here with mates.

  13. Excellent post. Keep posting such kind of information on your
    page. Im really impressed by it.
    Hi there, You have done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and individually suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they will be benefited from this website.

  14. That is a great tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.

    Brief but very precise info… Thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

  15. Valuable information. Fortunate me I discovered your site by accident,
    and I am shocked why this twist of fate did not happened in
    advance! I bookmarked it.

  16. Together with every thing that appears to be developing within this subject matter, many of
    your opinions are actually somewhat radical.
    Nevertheless, I beg your pardon, because I do not give credence to your entire idea, all be it refreshing none
    the less. It looks to me that your remarks are generally not entirely rationalized and in reality
    you are your self not really totally certain of your assertion.
    In any event I did appreciate examining it.

Share your thoughts!

