Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Book Review; Animal Farm by George Orwell

3 Comments

Hey hey! Do do do do dooo do.  Cookies go to anyone who can tell you what song I just sang =p This is the 50th post on this blog.  Pretty cool and quick, I think =]

~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Book Review: Animal Farm by George Orwell

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Animal Farm, in terms of plot, is lacking.  Animal Farm, in terms of concept, parallels to the real world and characters, is genius.

The animals, led by Old Major the pig, want to take over the Manor Farm.  Their leader, Mr Jones, often forgets to feed them and living conditions are very poor on the farm.  With relative ease, the animals overthrow Jones.

The book talks about the hardship they face taking in harvest, the squabbles between Napoleon and Squealer and the deception and the corruption that comes with power.

I found it incredibly boring to read.  Orwell isn’t a very good action writer.  He just writes things as they happen, with no added flair or creativity of any sort.

I suppose his lack of description is made up for by his incredible concept.  The story is based on the Russian Revolution.  At the time the book was published, you could not publish anything against the Communists of Russia.  By disguising his thoughts as a simple beast fable, Orwell did just that.

He uses the animals to talk about the injustices he witnessed first-hand and the terrible living conditions.  He talks about the deception the government has over its people.

Although the parallels Orwell sets up are nothing short of magnificent, the book still wasn’t very enjoyable.

Score: 2/5

~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a third year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies, while concurrently studying a Diploma of Languages in Spanish. He enjoys eating crepes, sitting in the sun, reading, and listening to music.

3 thoughts on “Book Review; Animal Farm by George Orwell

  1. Oh, I actually liked ‘Animal Farm’ when we did it in year nine! It’s one of thr few classics I enjoyed! It was really sad when a certain big animal died. 😦

  2. I liked Animal Farm as well. Read it two years ago and again last year. lol

  3. Mmm, yes, I think I’d like to read it again outside of a school setting. I was challenging myself to read at least 2 classics this year (out of choice, because otherwise I would have covered that already for school and I want this to be of my own free will) so that will cover my quota.

Share your thoughts!

