Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Book Review; Deep Secret by Berlie Doherty

2 Comments

Hey There Delilah!

Nobody guessed what song I was singing in my last post.  You know, it went “Hey hey, do do do do dooo do”.  It’s Memories by Kid Cudi and David Guetta.

You get a big smack if you don’t guess what song the first three words of this post [not title] are from.

~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Book Review; Deep Secret by Berlie Doherty

Deep Secret by Berlie Doherty

To be upfront honest, I didn’t find this book particularly engaging.  We are quickly introduced to twins Madeleine and Grace, as well as the rest of their farm village, including Colin, Seth and Dora Proctor.

A shocking bombshell is dropped that changes this book.  Secrets emerge.  They develop.

This book is loosely based on the flooding of a village due to the construction of a dam.  The characters in this book were quite believable.  I really think Dora is an interesting character, as was Seth.  I wish the latter got more “screen time” in the book, if you know what I mean =] I hate Oliver, and originally hated Colin but as the book progressed and he gained some “imperfect” and “humanly” characteristics I grew to like him.

I thought this book was stretched out way too much.  I didn’t really fancy the ending much; I found it quite predictable.  However, I was shocked to hear about Oliver’s fate.

Berlie Doherty has a great skill in painting vivid pictures of scenarios through her wonderful language and I applaud her for conveying her feelings so expertly.

Rating: 2.5/5

~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Yeah.

Long weekend; Monday is Labour Day.  Unfortunately I have 2 SACs on Tuesday [SACs stands for School Assessed Classwork which is basically a test or assignment or exam that you need to score pretty well on because it goes towards your final VCE mark.]  so I don’t think I’ll be posting much on the weekend.  Sorry ~

By the by, if you haven’t heard BLOG REVIEW nominations are open.  Sign up if you want a blog review.  Just head over to the REVIEWS page and click BLOG REVIEWS.  Tada!

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a final year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies. He enjoys eating ice cream, jamming to Taylor Swift, and procrastinating on readings.

2 thoughts on “Book Review; Deep Secret by Berlie Doherty

  1. Honestly sounds like a boring book! 2.5/5… Haha. 😀 And the song is obvisouly Hey There Delilah! That’s kinda easy……..

  2. Well, I hadn’t heard of the previous song, but I do agree that it is a crime if anyone did t guess that it is ‘Hey There Delilah’ by The Plain White T’s!
    Hmm, doesn’t sound like my type of book. What are the secrets – chances are I’m not going to read it, so feel free to spoil.
    Oh, I totally want a review now! 🙂

Share your thoughts!

