Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

♥ Love ♥

14 Comments

Hey!

Can you believe I’ve only written one deep post this year?  They’re my favourite type of posts to write, too!  I guess I just haven’t been all to inspired, haha.

In my time as a blogger, I’ve written many posts on love.  Well, I know I’ve written at least one.  On Raining Water.  It wasn’t at the best time, though.  Lol.

By love, I don’t mean the lovey-dovey romantic love.

Picture: Cute Love Poem

No.  I mean love we have for each other, in general, you know.  And I’m talking about something on an even deeper level.  A level that is harder to grasp.  A level that is simple to talk about, but extremely difficult to put into practice.  I’m talking about unconditional love.

1 Corinthians, 13: 4-8, in the Bible, describes love in its utmost brilliance.  What is love?

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.

Love is meant to be patient.  Love is only real if the love is true.  As humans, we are not perfect.  Blatantly, we are far from it.  God, however, is all things perfect.  God is slow to anger, abiding in love.  Unconditional love.  God’s love is always unconditional.  There is nothing we can do to make him love us less; nothing we can do to make him love us more.

How can we receive this unconditional love?  By devoting your life to Him.  That’s all it takes.  Sincere and complete devotion to God.  Not only will you earn unconditional love, but you will also receive eternal life if you truly believe in Him, have faith in Him and love him with all your heart.

However, as humans, despite our utter imperfection, we cannot just sit here ignoring it.  We can improve.  Demonstrate unconditional love to our friends.  To our family.  To people we don’t even know.  Our Christian Life teacher told us this story a few months ago.  There were a dozen people studying in Bible College, and their final assessment was to deliver a speech on something.

On the path from their school to the hall was an actor.  He was pretending to be a beggar.  When the students individually scurried past on their way to deliver their speech, he begged for money.  Bible College students.  Surely you would think at least some of the students would stop and help the beggar.  But not one of them did.  They all failed their final assessment – the real test was whether or not they would exhibit unconditional love to the man.

Unconditional love means treating everyone equally, with respect, loving them no matter what they do to you.  Don’t just demonstrate unconditional love to the people who help you throughout your day.  Demonstrate unconditional love to the beggars.  The homeless people.  The elderly.  The forgotten.  The lonely.  The depressed.  The hated.

With love,

Josh ♥

Author: Josh

Josh is a third year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies, while concurrently studying a Diploma of Languages in Spanish. He enjoys eating crepes, sitting in the sun, reading, and listening to music.

14 thoughts on “♥ Love ♥

  1. Well said, Josh. Sorry, I’m tired and my mind’s drunk so I’m probably go hit the hay..

  2. Nah. I don’t mean literally drunk.

  3. Yeah, that’s me, Emmi, Emtek, all those aliases. I don’t think I ever went by Emi, though… 😛

    And yes, I had the Pokemon blog xD And I remember making a header too! It was like… an animation of rain, I think. Good times, good times.

    This is a very deep post, indeed. I enjoyed reading it. xP

  4. @ Phi; Thanks. And lol.

    @Emily; I knew it! The header that won, made by Patrick, was the animated rain one. I can’t remember yours, though. Thanks.

    And I’ve had the best idea ever for this blog! I was just browsing through fcpsawards.wordpress.com – the unfinished series that Phi was in as well – when I got the idea =]

  5. Wow dude. I am honestly speechless at your post. It brought so many memories and thoughts into my mind. As I am trying to be more religious now you have brought something new to my mind. I shouldn’t try to be. I just need to let it flow. Let the love flow, even to the people who I don’t like and the people who don’t like me. Great deep post. You made us all realize something.

    P.S. I was also listening to Dare by Switchfoot when I was reading this. It made the post way more deeper when I was reading the part about the college students. 😀

  6. great post josh! haha i almost wrote great post logan, dont know why XD i see u have CSS!!! CONGRATS!

  7. @Logan,
    Shoot, it ain’t CSS. It’s just plain, ol’ Vigilance. 🙂

    I love Vigilance.

  8. @Josh,
    Ah, and that competition was how I cam across Dylan Turner’s site… AKA Nalyd Renrut.

  9. @ Logan; Like Phi said it’s not CSS =p And thanks!

    @ Brett; Thankyou…? Though I’m not sure I was aiming to make you LESS religious…

    @ Phi; Haha. Good ol’ Nalyd.

  10. Lol. ‘Renrut’… Pronounced REN-RUT, I assume? Lol. Doesn’t it sound funny?

  11. 😆 Josh, my middle name isn’t Intheayyer. That’s just a good song. And I didn’t mean you we’re trying to make me less religious. 😉

  12. I love your deep posts, they always inspire me, or make me feel good about myself. 🙂 Nice work.
    And nice passage. 🙂 We sing a song that uses that passage as lyrics in school chapel.

  13. Lo and behold… ^^ How beautifully written. I was browsing google for cute love desktop wallpapers and came across your blog ^^.. I hope you are still blogging now in 2012. Anyway. Check out a post I wrote on ‘Love’ too http://www.a-boutagirl.com.

Share your thoughts!

