Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Am I Some Piece of Rare Furniture or Something?

38 Comments

Heyy!

Sorry for the gap between posts.  I’ve bee incredibly super duper busy.  But first, you may have noticed that I’ve put up a new Home Page set-up.  I love the new buttons ♥ Soon all the other buttons [the ones on the Games and Reviews pages] will be updated to look like the Home Page buttons.

Anyways, on to school.

Remember how I told you that I tried getting into a really good, prestigious but mega expensive school?  Well, I got into a super prestigious and super expensive school!  Yay!  The annual school fees are something like $22,000 [Australian dollars, of course] but I got a 75% scholarship meaning my parents only have to pay $5500-ish.

All good news, yeah?  I told my homeroom teacher, who has always encouraged me to try out for other schools.  Later yesterday some of the teachers was randomly congratulating me. I was going to tell my friends at school yesterday when…

Principal’s office!

I never go to the Principal’s office.  Ever.  Let me put it into perspective for you.  I’ve been at this school since the start of 2008.  The first time I went into the Principal’s office was to get me enrolled in ’07.  Last year was my second visit, because my maths teacher thought my book was so beautiful I should get a sticker [but that’s fine because I like stickers].  Yesterday was the third time.

“So, I heard you’re moving schools.  Explain.”

That’s what the principal said just after he greeted me.  To either side of me were the two vice-principals.  The principal was staring at me.  It was like I was being interrogated for killing someone.

So I explained.  I got into the school with a 75% scholarship.  It’s a humongous school – there are 350 people in my year level alone, compared with just 16 at my current school.  They offer so many subjects.  Their campus is enormous.  They have four ovals, a swimming pool, lots of tennis courts and lots and lots of classrooms.

But then they set fire.  The principal and his two vice-principals.  Why I shouldn’t leave.  What wonderful opportunities I have at this tiny school.  So on.

At the end of the interview I was confused.  Shouldn’t they want what’s best for me, not try and convince me to stay at this school with incentives?  It was like they were at an auction, and I was the highly prized piece of rare furniture from three millenniums ago.

My homeroom teacher approached me later yesterday.  “Don’t worry.  They are going to try and do whatever they can to get you to stay at this school, because you are an excellent student.”  She said something like that.

So I’m left confused, annoyed.  And the principal doesn’t want me to tell anyone about the meeting I had with him or even the fact I tried out at another school.

~Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a final year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies. He enjoys eating ice cream, jamming to Taylor Swift, and procrastinating on readings.

38 thoughts on “Am I Some Piece of Rare Furniture or Something?

  1. I like the new buttons ~

  2. Love the buttons. 🙂
    You are most definitely rare, but most definitely not furniture! Don’t worry about your principal. Your homeroom teacher is probably right, they just want you to stay because you make the school look fantastic and what not. But it’s what makes you happy that’s important anyway. It actually sounds like a novel, and soon your principal is going to come out and tell you your magic and you have to stay becuase he’s been sent from the magical realm to watch you and keep your from going made with your magic powers… Or maybe that’s just me being insane again.
    I’ll go away to my corner now…

    Oh, and congrats on getting in. That’s a massive change from 16 people though. I suppose it’ll take lot of getting used to. Corner…right. 😛

  3. Lol! Go around telling everyone what the higher-ups called you in for! 😀 You’re gunna leave the school anyway, right?

    Congratulations on getting into the school, Josh. 😀

  4. Oh, and I’m currently hating the whether. At my school, we’re having two half days for Parent – Student – Teacher interviews. lol So… since my parents are busy off working in the city, I’m forced to walk home in the sun… lol.

    Oh, and Josh? You are quite the rare piece of furniture. 😀

  5. Lol, Phi, I walk home in the sun everyday! It’s awful! Lol, ok, so it’s not that bad since it’s only up one street and down my street, but they’re both long streets and one is fully uphill.
    But I do have a 40 minute bus ride home from school, and we always manage to not get the airconditioned buses. And our uniforms are cotton and clingy and thick and totally yuck.
    Alrigh, I’m done complaining. Rant complete. I feel much better now. 🙂

  6. Wow, seems like you are quite stretched. I go to a school like that, as well. But not even half as big as your future school. Only my opinion, but my school has a ‘calming sense of shabbiness’, which doesn’t make it that intimidating. I’ve also got a couple of scholarships too, but they don’t kick in until next year. Our class sizes, at their smallest, 8 and highest 9. I actually kinda like it, because it’s a nice little schooling community. Hmm… I’d call you a piece of china… 😉

  7. And I thought my school was small, Elliot! (hi, by the way).
    Our year is the smallest in out school, and we’ve got 80 people. Altogether our school has about 1500 people (I think) and that’s from preschool to year 12! But your schools are tiny!!
    At one of my friend’s schools, they have 150-ish people in their year, she doesn’t even know everyone! That freaks me out since I know everyone in my year, and most of them quite well.

    I don’t know if I’d like going to such a small school though. I mean, my group is 31 people! We make up a third of our year (well, almost), so I can’t imagine such a tiny school. But if your used to it I suppose you might like it. Ok, I’m going to stop talking because this is getting really long and I’m rambling again. O.o

  8. What an ass of a principal

  9. Wow… that’s a small school. My high school has around 2,500 students (grade 9-12). I can’t image going to school where there are just 16, let alone 350 (I had a little bit less than that in junior high). Everyone that commented seems to go to such small schools,am I the only one who goes to a public school (it’s in a good area with a good program…otherwise I’d go private)?

    Melissa
    schools are small these days…

  10. Wow… thats… just wow.

  11. I don’t know about everyone else, but my school’s private…

  12. @ Squishy; Lol, I’m sure my principal will tell me I’m magical. Yeah, it’s going to be a big change.
    @ Phi; Well, I would go spread the word about the meeting but if I did that the vice and principal will not be happy. My brother is still staying at the school so we’re not really leaving completely, if you know what I mean.
    @ Eliot; Erm, so at the smallest your class has 8 people. At its largest it has 9 people? …Alright.
    @Chad; Lol.
    @ Melissa; I used to go to a public school, but we moved to within 500 metres of a good private school so moved schools. I’ve been moving schools since then. =]
    @ Wizardly Idiot; It’s you again! And, hi.

  13. I wouldn’t mind what they’re doing but the ‘oh don’t tell anyone about this’ is just too dodgy. lol

  14. Is it weird that I might know what school you’re moving to?
    If we’re on the same side of Melbourne, anyway.
    Either way, though, congrats on the scholarship! It’s awesome that you’re doing so well.
    It’s hard to believe your principals would actually discourage you from taking advantage of an opportunity like that. That’s a little messed up.

    I go to a school with about 350 kids per year level too. I’ve been here for five years, but I’ve never really spoken to at least 30% of those kids. You get used to it, though.

  15. Hm… Ain’t it weird that I might know what school you got to, Amali? LOL!

  16. Well he is stupid. You should go to the expensive new cool school. They just want you to attract more students and more money is all. I think that is just stupid of them to try and get you to stay at the less rewarding school they have.

  17. Hi Josh.

    This Easter, I won’t be going anywhere. However, I will be going up to Sydney with some mates around May. 🙂

  18. h3y 13uddy! h0w’5 1t 601ng? 60od, 1 h0p3 🙂

    u 5hou1d ch3ck 0ut t3h m05t aw3s0m3 s1t3 @ (cl1ck 0n my n4m3) 🙂

    p3ac3 0ut, d00d —

    FEE
    (cl1ck on my n4m3 for a c001 s1t3!) 🙂

  19. Wow… You could be bothered to type that?

    Have fun in Sydney Phi. 😀

  20. >_>

    Of course this random textspeak person advertises the site that my name is linked to.

    It’s not me, people! I couldn’t be bothered to type that out.
    I could use a translator though.

    Translation:

    >_>

    0f K0Ur23 tH12 R4nd0m t3XT5p33K P3r50N 4DV3RT1532 Th3 51T3 Th4t My n4M3 12 l1nk3d T0.

    1T’2 n0T m3h, p30pl3! 1 k0ULDN’T 83 80TH3r3d t0 tYP3 Th4t 0UT.
    1 k0ULd u23 4 TR4n5l4t0R TH0U9H.

    Kudos to http://www.jayssite.com/stuff/l33t/l33t_translator.html XD

    Bones979

    Everything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law

  21. Uh… If you haven’t figured it out, I’m ‘FEE’. Haha, lol. It was a joke 😉 I read the comment by Jordan and I thought it was kinda funny how y’all were like: ‘0M6 j00 60nn4 g3t 1n 2 troub13!’ So… I decided to do a parody of it. 😀

    LOL!

    Ciao!

    (50rry 1f 1 0ff3nd3d 4ny0n3 w1th my stunt) ‘-.-

  22. Oh, I guess I was also parodying l33t speakers. 😀

  23. …there was a comment like that from Jordan?
    And what’s a ‘l33t speaker’?

  24. I hate you now, Phi.

    </3

    Squishy, a l33t speaker is somebody that uses numbers instead of letters to make whatever it is they are saying considerably more confusing.

    Bones979
    1 1z 73h l337z0rz

  25. Hiya Josh! Ah, I see you’ve been busy too xP

    Hahahahhaa, that’s really funny what the principals said. xD

    Clearly, they think you’re one of the few talented students in the school, and they can’t stand giving you up. I’m happy for you that you got a scholarship. And you only have 16 people in your grade? I have about 350 now, and growing. 😮

  26. Wow, everyone has such big years!!

    Thanks Bones. 🙂

  27. Thanks Bones for… Hating me???????

    @ Josh;
    Sorry for spammin’ this place. 😦

  28. Ohh, Phi, you even got the broken heart! Something’s gone majorly awry there… You guys should invest in counselling or something. I can just feel the hate radiating around the uh… Virtual room?

  29. can you make me a header pleeeeeeeassssssse !?

  30. ¤º°¨¨°º¤ø¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨°º¤ø KEEP THE WAVE GOING ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø

  31. That looks awesome Zipo. Sadly, my fingers fear they will get sore typing all that out….

  32. thats why they invented copy and paste.

  33. ¤º°¨¨°º¤ø¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨°º¤ø KEEP THE WAVE GOING ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø

    Tiny School+Excellent Student+Awesome Grades+Academic Achievements+Principles Credibility= $$$PROFIT$$$

    That’s basically it. lol p:

  34. But copy and paste is just so…. blase.

  35. ¤°¨¨°º¤ø¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨°º¤ø KEEP THE WAVE GOING ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø

    Doh! I ruined it 😦

    Sorry. The wave is broken. First person to spot where I broke it gets something special! It’s round and yellow, but NOT a cheese wheel.

    Bones979
    k’shhhhppckkblrrsshhk

  36. The ‘Keep The Wave Going’ is designed to look like a stadium wave / Mexico Wave

    You’re suppose to take the wave to other blog sites, but whatever floats your boat. xd! It is a good conversation piece.

  37. Lots of comments to respond to xD

    @Amali; I don’t know, there are an awful lot of expensive schools in Melbourne so chances are you’re thinking of a different school.
    @Phi; Lol. I’m going to Tassie.
    @Fee; Hmm, you sound familiar =p
    @Squishy; I don’t remember Jordan leaving that comment either…Lol, you can copy and paste the wave thingy =]
    @Bones; Lol.
    @Chad; I’m a bit busy. Perhaps later…regarding the header, that is.
    @Opus; You are good at equations.
    @Emily; Yeah, I’ve been busy.
    @Zipo; You’re back =D We shall take the wave to distant blogs.

  38. As I said, copy and past is so blase. XD

Share your thoughts!

