Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Book Review; The Gift by Alison Croggon

9 Comments

Eh eh!

I’m sorry for the lack of posts, I’ve been uber [lol funny word] busy with school, work, tennis, so on.  I hurt my knee playing tennis, it randomly starts hurting and gets all stiff when I walk and run.  Tennis knee?  =p

~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Book Review; The Gift by Alison Croggon

The Gift, by Alison Croggon

It’s hard to believe The Gift, first released in 2002 in Australia and released as The Naming in the United States of America, is Alison Croggor’s first fantasy novel.  For a first-timer, Alison has done an exceptional job in crafting her novel.

The Pellinor series, of which The Gift is the first instalment, is a retelling of “The Riddle of the Treesong” of the fictional world of Edil-Amarandh.

The novel revolves around 16 year old Maerad of Pellinor.  For as long as she can remember, Maerad has been a slave at Gilman’s Cot.  She remembers her mother, Milana, dying at Gilman’s Cot, and her father and brother, Cai, being killed at her old town of Pellinor when it was being destroyed.  Her life consists of nothing more than toiling away at the Cot and playing her beloved lyre.  That is, until the mysterious Cadvan appears.

Seemingly out of nowhere, Cadvan walks up to Maerad at the Cot, offering to help her escape.  To her bewilderment, it seems the tough guards have not seen Cadvan enter the gates of Gilman’s Cot at all, but she somehow trusts the kind-eyed stranger.

This sudden decision brings about knowledge about who she really is.  Maerad is not just a slave.  Maerad is a bard with an incredible power.  Cadvan and Maerad rush to the School of Innail with the hope that Maerad can receive a good Bard education, but it is not all good news as the Dark attacks.

I must commend Alison for writing a very enjoyable novel with a good, solid and unique plot and writing with such beautiful and immense detail.  However, compared to the only book that received a perfect rating, The Gift just doesn’t have that “wow” factor.

Despite this, it is a truly great book.

Rating – 4.5/5

~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a third year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies, while concurrently studying a Diploma of Languages in Spanish. He enjoys eating crepes, sitting in the sun, reading, and listening to music.

9 thoughts on “Book Review; The Gift by Alison Croggon

  1. I hope your knee feels better soon!

    I’m not sure about this new theme though…I can’t read the writing! I had to highlight it to read it. 😦

    I’m sure Ros has read this…. sounds interesting though. I’ll have to steal it off her!
    Thanks for the review. 🙂

  2. Yeah, I’m just in the middle of fixing up the background.

  3. Ahh, it looks better now!

    By the way, I don’t know if the offer still stands, but I finally got around to making a banner that ACTUALLY works. I don’t mind if you put it up or not, but here’s the link: http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj193/Squishy133/Tea%20Mouse/Icon.png

  4. jeez squishy r u blind ? i can read this finnneee .
    Josh’s Response:
    Lol, before it was really hard to read with the colours. But I changed the colours, as you can see.

  5. no before you changed it, where it was all blue and white with the arrow, i could still see it fine.

  6. @ Chad; Yeah, I know what you meant. But I didn’t like it.

  7. Maybe my monitor was displaying it differently? But no, I am not blind, I have perfect eyesight thank you very much.

  8. Okay, I’ll explain everrrryyyything =]

    First of all, I changed the theme to “Dark Wood” and made the background that orange-y colour, with the swirly stuff. I couldn’t read it. That’s what Squishy saw.

    Then I kept the same theme but changed the background to a variation of the orange one – the same except it was mainly dark blue. That’s what Chad saw. It was readable, but it looked lazy and ugly.

    Then I changed the theme to this.

  9. Then…

    How do you explain the weird flying dragons at about 8PM yester-night? :S

    To tell the truth, I don’t like this theme. -It’s too dark. Maybe you should go back to the orange… Or even perhaps the flying dragons.

    ¤º°¨¨°º¤ø¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø ¸„ø¤º°¨°º¤ø KEEP THE WAVE GOING ¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø¸„ø¤º°¨¨°º¤ø 😉

Share your thoughts!

