Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Book Review; The Crow (Alison Croggon)

13 Comments

Hi ~

Yes, another book review hahah.  I’ve been reading quite a bit.

~*_*~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Book Review: The Crow, Alison Croggon

The third book in the Pellinor series, The Crow is once again utterly incredible.  Unlike the previous two books of the series, The Crow focuses on Maerad’s brother, Hem, and his adventures through Turbansk.

The Pellinor series is based on the ancient land of Edil-Amarandh.  In the previous two books, Maerad of Pellinor learns that she is the fated one who will defeat the Nameless One – a former bard who cast off his name in a bid for endless life, which he received, but his life is now one of hurt – in his quest to convert all of Edil-Amarandh to the dark.

At the end of The Gift, the first book of Pellinor, Maerad went to the frozen wastelands of the north with her mentor Cadvan while Hem traveled to the golden city of Turbansk in the Suderain with Saliman.  In Turbansk Hem befriends an unusual white crow who soon becomes one of Hem’s closest friends.  When disaster strikes Turbansk, Hem and Zelika, an orphan who appears in Turbansk, venture into Den Raven, a land filled with darkness.  Will they come out alive?

Like the previous two books of this series, I loved The Crow.  I really liked hearing things from Hem’s point of view; it was a nice change.  His feelings for Zelika are really cute too.  This book, which occurs at the same time as The Riddle, has left me filled with suspense waiting for the final book in the series.

Rating: 4.5/5

~*_*~*_*~*_*~

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a third year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies, while concurrently studying a Diploma of Languages in Spanish. He enjoys eating crepes, sitting in the sun, reading, and listening to music.

13 thoughts on “Book Review; The Crow (Alison Croggon)

  1. Wow, this was a short review. But this book was incredibly beautiful. I loved it.

  2. I like suspense. I need something to awaken my dull senses of late.

  3. im being forced to read 2 books over the summer for my high school. 😐

  4. One should never be forced to read books, in my opinion…

  5. I agree Squishy133. But I guess if one doesn’t like the book, it maybe a challenge to enjoy it. Books are like people I think. Either you enjoy them or you don’t. But surely they all have some merit.

    “Books, like friends, should be few and well chosen. Like friends, too, we should return to them again and again for, like true friends, they will never fail us – never cease to instruct – never cloy. ”
    Charles Caleb Colton

  6. Yeah, I would agree with that Zipo. I don’t like some of the books I read, but I always love to read. Then again, everyone has different tastes, even if I don’t understand them…

  7. hhaha i always start something.

  8. Chad, why don’t you go search for a book that you like? 😀

  9. Actually I guess the real message within the comment wasn’t about enjoying reading but about being told to do something. Not even that the books were picked by the teacher.

    Part of the challenge is to step outside your normal comfort zone and to expand your basis of reading. Rather than reading Joe Schmoe’s personal blog every day, expand your literacy level with a book you wouldn’t normally pick out for yourself for the pure joy of relaxation. (We all advance through various stages of literary appreciation at our own pace.)

    Studies have shown people with higher intelligence, better memory and less stress tend to read more. Summer is a great time for reading, especially in those ‘dog days of summer’.

  10. eh, i was just stateing my summer homework 😛 .

    i already know of a book i like ahahah im done reading it thoughh.

    i just dont like reading in general, only some books.

  11. Yeah, reading isn’t always someone’s idea of entertainment or find it even relaxing. That’s what makes everyone an individual and keeps it all interesting.

    So what book did you choose to read?

  12. where the wind blows – james patterson

  13. Ah,a fantasy. Not a bad choice for a read. I realize that that cloning has opened up a new world to us. We will be using genetic engineering to avoid many genetic tragedies. I am sure we will try to make the best humans possible, but thankfully not in my lifetime. I also believe that there are scientific limits to this and producing wings on humans is one of them. But I do love a winged entity!!!

Share your thoughts!

