Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Movie Review: Toy Story 3

10 Comments

Pixar was brave to release Toy Story 3; after all, it had been over a decade since Toy Story 2 blitzed our cinemas.  But like everything Pixar has done so far, it was flawless.

Toy Story 3 featured our favourite toys – Woody, Buzz, Jessie, Bullseye, Rex, Ham, Slinky, Mr and Mrs Potato Head and the three Pizza Planet aliens – on arguably the biggest adventure of their lives, and that is saying a lot.  Andy is all grown up now, and leaving to college in just days.  The toys have not been played with for years.  When Andy packs for college, he throws all the toys but Woody in a trash bag and intends on taking them to the attic, when Andy’s mum throws them out.

Doubting Andy, the other toys decide to be donated to Sunnyshore Day Care Centre with Andy’s sister’s Barbie doll.  Woody follows, trying to convince the toys that Andy wanted to keep the toys.  Their adventure at Sunnyshore is utterly hilarious from start to finish.

The new characters added fit in perfectly and are wonderful, especially Ken, Lotso and Trixie the triceratops.  The movie manages to balance out action with beauty and adds in a whole lot of humour along the way.

Very few sequels live up to expectations, but Toy Story 3 did just that.  It was utterly captivating from start to finish.  The plot was intense, the animation was superb.  It was the perfect movie to be the first I’ve ever watched in 3D.  It kept me guessing right until the final scene.

The last 15 minutes or so were the most enthralling scenes I have ever watched.  They were so emotionally charged.  I shed more than a tear; not one of sadness, but one of happiness.  The end scene seemed so fitting and stirring.  The music added to the wondrous movie.

The only bad thing I saw in this movie was that many of my personal favourites were not in it.  Bo Peep, Wheezy, RC, Etch, Mike and Lenny were all absent, presumably thrown away.  The new characters were wonderful though.  The monkey was creepy, but Ken was extremely funny and Bonnie’s toys [Bonnie’s a kid at Sunnyshore] were very cute.  Dolly and Trixie especially had me laughing.

All in all, Toy Story 3 was a beautiful ending to a series I really don’t want to end.  I’ll miss these toys.

Rating: 5/5

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a third year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies, while concurrently studying a Diploma of Languages in Spanish. He enjoys eating crepes, sitting in the sun, reading, and listening to music.

10 thoughts on “Movie Review: Toy Story 3

  1. I LOVED THAT MOVIE 🙂
    Best toy story ever !

  2. I loved TS3 – Toy Story and Pixar never fail to disappoint me! 🙂

  3. As a child I didn’t like Toy Story at all. I know, I had a strange childhood. I’m not sure I want to see this though, despite the rave reviews I keep hearing. Maybe it’s just not my thing – I do love pixar’s beautiful animations though. Stunning.
    Glad you enjoyed it anyhow.

  4. I have to admit this review was quite bad, to be honest…it didn’t really do the movie justice haha. I guess that’s why I don’t write many movie reviews hahaha.

    I honestly can’t choose which is the best one; I loved them all. If I had to make a choice, it would be out of Toy Story 1 and 3 for the best.
    Squishy, you MUST see it. You will not regret it!

    By the way, the new theme – good bad or ugly?

  5. Haha i like this theme 🙂
    You change themes an awful lot though, ive noticed.
    BTW do you have a facebook ?

  6. Haha. Loved Toy Story 3… I saw #2… Over ten years ago lol.

    Anywho I loved the Totoro (Bonnie’s) appearance in the film. I’ve always loved Totoro lol. (http://apike.ca/images/anime/totoro/totoro-flute.jpg)

    Also, you should have mention the Day & Night short…

  7. Yes, I do change themes a lot. A LOT. It’s because I find no theme suits me very well…
    Yes, I have Facebook. No, I won’t add people I don’t know.

    Totoro? What?
    Ah yes. That was fantastic too. But I didn’t mention it :]

  8. Ah facebook, a scary place for stalkers. My common fare is russian brides and people from afghanistan holding guns in their profile pictures. I’ve had the occasional weirdo who was telling me he ‘wanted friendship, no sex, you be friend’ in very broken English and I was like….uuhhhmmm, no.

    Isn’t Totoro that weird pudgy cute animated….thing? I’m not even sure what it is, but the link didn’t work Phi. I think it’s brown though….or blue? Is it blue?

    Alright alright, I’ll watch it. How bad can it be, right?
    What’s the Day & Night short?

    I like the new theme, but I’ve never been a fan of headerless themes (discounting Koi, which I am now shamelessly promoting because it is so souperly – as in as cool as soup – cool), so I can’t say I ‘love’ it.

  9. Awhh toroto’s cute 😛

Share your thoughts!

