Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Bible Study: Psalm 91

4 Comments

Hey there ~

<!–66dd439f042c444a9e59ed9f6c86b67d–>

Expect major aesthetic changes coming up: WP have finally released a theme which looks good!  Yay!

1 He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. [a]

2 I will say [b] of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”

3 Surely he will save you from the fowler’s snare
and from the deadly pestilence.

4 He will cover you with his feathers,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

5 You will not fear the terror of night,
nor the arrow that flies by day,

6 nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness,
nor the plague that destroys at midday.

7 A thousand may fall at your side,
ten thousand at your right hand,
but it will not come near you.

8 You will only observe with your eyes
and see the punishment of the wicked.

9 If you make the Most High your dwelling—
even the LORD, who is my refuge-

10 then no harm will befall you,
no disaster will come near your tent.

11 For he will command his angels concerning you
to guard you in all your ways;

12 they will lift you up in their hands,
so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.

13 You will tread upon the lion and the cobra;
you will trample the great lion and the serpent.

14 “Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him;
I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.

15 He will call upon me, and I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble,
I will deliver him and honor him.

16 With long life will I satisfy him
and show him my salvation.”

-Psalm 91

I mentioned in my post yesterday that we were attacked by demons whilst on the Missions Trip.  We were in our tents, with two in each tent except in my tent there was just me.  At 4:30 am one morning, I woke up and heard footsteps in the tent.  You know the sound tents make when you walk on them?  I heard that sound.  I shone my torch around the tent, thinking someone was in it.  Nobody was in my tent.

Yet the footsteps remained.  For the next 45 minutes I prayed and prayed and prayed and finally the footsteps ceased and I fell asleep.

The next day I found out 5 other boys heard the footsteps.

Our leaders had three possible answers: the security guards [we were in a mission house which had security guards, but I heard footsteps on a tent-like material…], angels protecting us or demons.

Either way, God was with us through the night and kept us safe.  Whenever you feel unsafe or scared, read Psalm 91.  I read it the following night before going to bed and slept extremely well.  God will protect us, but we must trust in Him.

In a way, it’s sort of encouraging that the demons were attacking us and we defeated them with God, as that just goes to show that we were really making an impact on Palm Island.  We were breaking the demon’s hold on the island.

God will protect us.

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a third year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies, while concurrently studying a Diploma of Languages in Spanish. He enjoys eating crepes, sitting in the sun, reading, and listening to music.

4 thoughts on “Bible Study: Psalm 91

  1. Psalm 91 is one of my favourite Psalms :]

  2. Hey there,

    Great Psalm.

    Have you tried this passage using Lectio Divina (4 parts)?

    I just posted the basics. Contact me with questions, if you’d like.

  3. Thanks for stopping by :]
    No I have not, nor have I heard of Lectio Divina.

    Oh, and Chad, your Blog Review will be complete very soon.

  4. That was a really good one! I enjoyed it.

    Wow, your mission trip sounds awesome! What an adventure!
    And a demon? Now THAT’S scary, but it’s good that you got through it okay. 🙂

    How’s life? Are you Melbourneans on holidays like we are?

Share your thoughts!

