Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Scared, Excited, Disappointed, Stressed

3 Comments

Hey all 😀

Yeah, so the whole Blogoversary Week Festival kind of failed, but that’s because I’ve been overloaded with homework.  I’m sorry, but don’t expect many posts in the next four weeks as I’ll have lots of homework and exams and what not.  I’m quite a busy kid now haha.

Tennis has been good; I had Club Championships on Sunday.  Unfortunately I got knocked out in Round 1 by an arrogant guy.  I thought I played well, especially since he was a much more experienced player [After the first game, when he led 1-0, he asked me what grade I played.  I replied “C grade,” and he laughed and said, “Don’t worry.  I play B grade so don’t feel bad when you lose.”]  I ended up losing 6-2.  This Sunday I’ve got doubles, yay.

On Tuesday we had this big Science experiment thing in which we had to use psychology to sell the year seven’s lucky dips.  Myself and my partner [remember how I said that Raining Water was named after a moment in year 8 in which a girl sang “It’s Raining Water!” to the rune of “It’s Raining Men”?  It was that girl.  She’s hilarious.] were selling rubber bands and had an impressive stall with big lucky dips and a game and everything.  Unfortunately, for some strange reason, even though we put hours and hours of time into planning and making the stall and the gifts, we came 5th out of 7 groups in terms of money made. Which was disappointing; we put in so much effort!  We were really competitive; but then again our whole class is.  Our rivals, I suppose you could say, well, we were really competitive with them.  They only outsold us by $6 [it wasn’t really money by the way] which was strange; they had a big tent and tinsel and everything and came 4th.  It was fun, though, but disappointing.

I’ve been extremely stressed what with all the homework I’ve had.  Speaking of school, I got my uniform for my new school last Friday; that was when the reality sunk in.  I’m moving to that school in less than a month.  That means I only have a few weeks left at my school.  I felt sad, excited, scared.  I’m going to miss my friends but I’m excited for the future.

Last Wednesday I got back my results from the Australian Westpac Maths Competition.  I did awfully; I only managed to get in the top 14%.  You may be thinking “Josh, that’s great!” but by my standards, it’s awful.  I normally get up around the top 4% so I was utterly disappointed.  Even my teachers thought I could’ve done better, and my parents weren’t happy.  That was when I realised I had begun to doubt myself.  Am I really that smart?  Am I?  Sure, I got a huge scholarship into a prestigious school, but am I actually smart?

Hopefully I’ll be able to get a book review and game review up soon.  An album review is also coming soon, as soon as I buy Taylor Swift’s album Speak Now, which comes out on Monday 😀

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a final year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies. He enjoys eating ice cream, jamming to Taylor Swift, and procrastinating on readings.

3 thoughts on “Scared, Excited, Disappointed, Stressed

  1. Also, I should have a header up sometime in the near future haha.

  2. I am so psyched for Taylor’s new album! She rocks awesome socks!!

    Hey, don’t get down on yourself. You’re heaps smart – and besides, there is so much more to life than being ‘smart’. Yep, it’s a big part and it’s important, but you are what God made you and in his eyes you are wonderful.
    Trust yourself and him, you’re going where you’re supposed to go and so there is nothing to stress about. 🙂
    Just try your best, because that is all you can give.

    No regrets, okay?
    And happy belated blogoversary! 🙂

  3. She does 😀
    Sas, thankyou. You really know just what to say when someone’s down. Thanks :] *hug*
    Thankyou :]

Share your thoughts!

