Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Bible Study: Galatians 5:14

3 Comments

Hi all!  How are you all doing?  I’m great, thanks for asking.  I have some major plans for Tinted Lens for the rest of 2010.  :]

14The entire law is summed up in a single command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”

– Galatians 5:14

A lot of the time, I feel Christianity is overcomplicated.  Some people insist that, as a Christian, you must do these things daily, these things every season, this every year, and so on.  However, many forget one of the most important things about being a Christian; in fact, second only to loving God with all your heart.  Love your neighbour as yourself.

I can’t emphasise this enough; you may have noticed many of my Bible Studies have focused on love; that is because love is so important.  Without love, we are not in the likeness of God, however by displaying love, we are showing people – believers and non-believers alike – how much God can love them and thus bring them closer to a relationship with God.  Love can heal wounds and can heal pain; we can start the healing process in people, and God will come in and do the rest for us.

And don’t just love the people who are nice to you.  Love the unloved; the criminals, the elderly, the disabled.  Love the people who need love the most.  Love everyone.

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a final year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies. He enjoys eating ice cream, jamming to Taylor Swift, and procrastinating on readings.

3 thoughts on “Bible Study: Galatians 5:14

  1. So, here’s a question for you: what topics would you like me to focus on for my next few Bible Studies? I’ve surprised myself with these; I’ve actually posted a Bible Study every Monday for 11 weeks now, which is definitely impressive. So, what would you like to read about?

  2. I find this is something that a lot of people just don’t understand about Christianity. I mean, I’ve had conversations about the death penalty, for example, and most people tend to agree that it should be imposed in Australia because ‘some people just don’t deserve to live’. But then I throw it out there that, well, we shouldn’t condemn people no matter what sins they have committed. It isn’t our job to judge people, that’s what God is going to do, but it is our job to show mercy and kindness and, as you said, love. Even the people that horrify us or terrify or shock us, we should love them because it is through that sort of love that people come to know God.

    I love your bible studies! They are always so thought provoking. 🙂
    Congratulations on the 11 weeks too!

    Hmm, I’m not sure what I’d like to hear about… Let me think on it. 🙂

    By the way, I like the new theme… it’s called z-something isn’t it? I saw it on the wordpress blog and it looked pretty cool. And it definitely suits your site! Although I do wish it had a bit more colour to it, you know?

  3. Precisely. I feel the same way with asylum seekers: people say “Turn them back, we have no room, they don’t deserve to come here!” But where’s the love?

    Thanks :]
    Yer, it’s z-Bench.

Share your thoughts!

