Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Bible Study: Deuteronomy 8:17-18

6 Comments

You may say to yourself, “My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me.”18 But remember the LORD your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth, and so confirms his covenant, which he swore to your ancestors, as it is today.

(Deuteronomy 8:17 – 18)

You know those award shows, like the Oscars or Grammy’s, where the recipient of the award makes their way to the stage from the crowd and then accepts and award and proceeds to make a speech?  Have you ever noticed who and what they thank?  Most speeches start off with the winner thanking their parents, friends, colleagues, manager, etc.  But very few thank the one who gifted them with their talents – God.

There are many rich people, but several of them claim their wealth is due to their decisions and the way they lived their life.  But it’s not – without God, how could you become wealthy?  Without God, there would be no money to spend, no supplies to make a product, no people to sell the product to, no world.  So how can your success be yours solely, and not Gods?

God gives us the opportunity to succeed and grow and develop in all areas of our life, but how often do we take the spotlight for our achievements, instead of proclaiming God for gifting us so we can achieve?

~*_*~*_*~*_*~

It’s Melbourne Cup day tomorrow; basically it’s known as the Race that Stops The Nation even though it’s only a public holiday for the Melbourne metropolitan area.  There’s a big horse race at 3pm at Flemington and millions of dollars are wagered on the 24 or so horses that race for the prestigious Melbourne Cup.  This year is the 150th Melbourne Cup which makes it extra special.

As is a new family tradition, for the past five years or so at least, the whole family comes over to our place to watch the race, have a barbecue, do a cup sweep, etc.  It’s quite a lot of fun.  However, since they’ll be arriving at like 11:30am tomorrow, I’m going to have to get up mega early to do some more cleaning, make the punch and hopefully do some drawing haha.

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a final year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies. He enjoys eating ice cream, jamming to Taylor Swift, and procrastinating on readings.

6 thoughts on “Bible Study: Deuteronomy 8:17-18

  1. Did you go for anyone in the race? I was drooling over all the stunning horses before hand with my friends who were having a study day with me. I was going for So You Think since he did so amazingly in the cox plate, but I guess he wasn’t up to it yesterday.

    So true, people just don’t think that it’s God behind everything that happens when it is. Sure, people are a part of things, but it’s all God’s plan and he deserves some credit too. 🙂

    Oh, and I am ogling your header – it is sooo nice.

  2. Look who’s back? =D
    http://pleasedontadvertiseontintedlensjordan
    Josh’s Response:

    Look who just deleted the link in your comment =D
    But seriously, though, I hate it when people just go around commenting on sites saying “Go on my site!” and don’t even care to read the post. Sometimes I make a really sad post and people say “Nice post, visit my site!” Like seriously. If you can’t be bothered to read my post when telling me to visit your site, I’m not going to go visit your site. So, yeah, I’m not going to visit your site. Advertise again and I shall be an unhappy chappy.
    Also, this is the first comment I’ve edited in an extremely long time.

  3. @ Sas; Yes I did! I backed Americain and Maluckyday. I knew So You Think couldn’t win – the favourite never wins haha. In the end I bet some money on Americain and Maluckyday as I read a few articles on them. I placed a Win/Place bet for $4 win/$1 place for each horse. Americain won and Maluckyday came second [I was incredibly ecstatic when the race finished, as I had no clue who won bahahaha] and I ended up with a nice $50.10 haha. We also had a bbq and the family over. Lots of fun 😀 I love Melbourne Cup day. And thanks :] Yeah, God deserves credit too :]

    @Jordan; See the response that I edited in 😛

  4. Josh, it’s great to see you sharing your faith ^^

    Cup Day is always exciting! Sounds like you would have had a lot of fun! I was stuck at home studying this year, since my brother and I both had year 12 exams to worry about (well, I only had one to worry about, but still). I’m glad you enjoyed the day though! And a bit of profit it always nice 😛

    (Also, I have to agree with Sas, that header is stylin’)!

  5. It’s been a while, the site is really looking nice!
    I think it’s amazing that God gave us our own unique talents, the things that make us who we are. It is a great reminder that He blessed us with our gifts, not us ourselves.

  6. @Amali; :] Nawww, poor you. Yeah=] Thanks!

    @Madz; Omg it’s youu! Haha thanks 😀 Agreed.

Share your thoughts!

