Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Book Review: Arrival, Charlotte McConaghy

6 Comments

Arrival (Charlotte McConaghy)

Arrival is the first book in the Strangers of Paragor series by Charlotte McConaghy.  Charlotte’s debut novel did not fail to impress.  Six ordinary teenagers – Harry, Jane, Luca, Anna, Jack and Mia – discover a portal in the real world.  They jump through it, not expecting to land in another world – the world of Paragor.

The coming of the Six Strangers has been foretold.  Apparently these six are meant to save Paragor from destruction.  The evil Leostrial has taken over one of the kingdoms and, whereas the five countries of Paragor had always remained in peace, they are now heading towards a ruthless and bitter war.

How are the Strangers suppose to save this beautiful word of humans, elves, gods, faeries, mermaids, unicorns and more if they have no idea how to do it and they are separated from each other?

Arrival was a pretty good book, all in all.  I was promised a rich fantasy novel and I got one.  The plot was unique and rich but there were some hiccups in the plot; the end was extremely messy, rushed, and made little sense.  [SPOILER: How did the kids suddenly develop powers in the middle of the battle? /END SPOILER]  The characters were also inconsistent at times which was annoying.   The way the characters just accepted that they were now in a different universe and didn’t protest or care at all – with the exception of Anne – seemed so fake.  The characters seemed like robots.

There was a character called Ria del Torr, who had the ability to sing her way out of trouble which made no sense whatsoever.  I know this is fantasy, but how can Ria quell a battle with her voice?

This book had quite a few flaws, but had an interesting plot and likeable characters.  All in all, however, this was a great read and I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series.

Rating: 4/5

Author: Josh

Josh is a final year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies. He enjoys eating ice cream, jamming to Taylor Swift, and procrastinating on readings.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Arrival, Charlotte McConaghy

  1. Ooh, this looks good! And I like the cover. That’s always a plus.

    How have you been?! I seriously need to get back into the blogging habit. I miss everyone. ❤

  2. Josh… It’s the 22nd of December. This day last year, you posted a personal top 50 songs of the year. I was wondering if you were thinking of doing something of that sort? Haha. Oh, and on today, two years ago, 2008, you wrote “MERRY CHRISTMAS! ™”… Not sure if you wrote anything this day the years earlier. Yeah, pre random. 😆

    Anywho, Josh, Keep up the great work and I hope you’ll go back to posting those random, meaningful, funny and original posts!

    Have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    See you in the New Year (maybe sometime before),
    Phi

    See you in the New Year,

  3. Thanks Emily!

    Ohno, Phi, I’ve broken the tradition of posting on the 22nd! GASP. >.< Yes, I am planning to post a top 50 songs of 2010 as well, and also a Reflections post. I'm going to end up posting multiple posts a day to clear this review pile haha.

    Thanks, I will endeavour to return to my originality. :] Have a nice Christmas and New Year!

  4. Oh, and I would write a quick post so that I can say I’ve posted on the 22nd of December for three or more years in a row, but it’s midnight in four minutes…haha.

  5. Darn it! …You know… You could’ve cheated and made a blank post… Then edit it tomorrow… 😆 Or you can always move tomorrow’s post back a day! 😉

    Oh… I’ve no idea why I said “see you in the New Year” twice.

  6. Ehehe, I suppose I could’ve done that!

    Haha, thanks all the same. Have a great Christmas!

    *I reread this review and felt it to be lacking, so I fixed it up and altered the rating – it’s the first book to ever undergo a ratings change, dropping from 4.25 to 4.

Share your thoughts!

