Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Book Review: Night of the Fifth Moon (Anna Ciddor)

1 Comment

Night of the Fifth Moon

Night of the Fifth Moon follows a young boy called Ket living in ancient pagan Ireland.  Ket and five other children have decided to learn the ways of the druid but only one of them will win the Faelan – the druid’s – contest to be the next anruth.  Can Ket learn the ancient ways of the druid?

Every New Moon, one of the six children will be sent away and eliminated from the contest.  Tensions between the youngsters can only rise to feverish levels before something bad happens to them all…

Overall, I found Night of the Fifth Moon to be quite boring, for lack of a better word.  Although this book was categorised as a YA book in my library, it appears to be a book more suited for younger readers, evident by the simplistic plot and basic characters in her novel.

Having said that, had I been four years younger, I probably would’ve found the book to be interesting.  The plot was basic but interesting, but this book could’ve been so much better.  Anna didn’t really expand on anything and the pace was extremely fast, which isn’t always a good thing.  It’s one thing to be dragging a book out, but another thing to go through a story so quickly that it almost loses meaning.

There was very little in terms of character development, as well.  Due to the fact that one child was sent away every few chapters, none of the characters bar Ket were actually ‘fleshed out’.  Therefore I didn’t really get attached to any of the characters and throughout most of the book found the majority of the characters, including Ket, to be annoying and I found myself disliking them.

The setting was interesting, and I appreciate the great amount of research Anna undertook to write this novel.  However, the poor plot and characters ultimately sealed the fate of this novel, which definitely had a lot of potential to shine and be different.  It was a different idea, but poorly executed.

Despite my apparent ‘bashing’ of this book, Night of the Fifth Moon wasn’t too bad; I’m just struggling to remember the good parts of the book.  I suppose it was intended for a younger audience and it seems like it would be a great read for younger readers, but that begs me to ask the question: why was this in the YA section of my library?

2.5/5

Josh

Author: Josh

Josh is a final year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies. He enjoys eating ice cream, jamming to Taylor Swift, and procrastinating on readings.

One thought on “Book Review: Night of the Fifth Moon (Anna Ciddor)

  1. I apologise for the incredibly short review; I found it hard to elaborate because not only did I read this in the first half of December, but the book was really short and left little to comment on. I didn’t want to be too harsh, as well.

Share your thoughts!

