Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Book Review: Shadow Kiss (Richelle Mead)

7 Comments

'Shadow Kiss', Richelle Mead

Shadow Kiss is the third novel in the six-part Vampire Academy series, following Vampire Academy and Frostbite.  This review may contain spoilers for previous books in the series.

Ever since she made her first Strigoi kills, Rose Hathaway has been feeling down, as if spirits are oppressing her.  She has to deal with that, and her realisation that if she continues to love Dimitri – her instructor – she may end up losing the person who she loves most – Lissa Dragomir.  Rose still has to guard Lissa, the last of her royal family name, from the Strigoi, who are lurking even closer than before.  Can Rose protect her friend without destroying herself in the process?

Shadow Kiss was a pretty good novel.  The plot was quite exciting, but not as good as Frostbite.  The characters were thoroughly fleshed out, but once again I felt them slightly inferior to the characters in Frostbite.  It was a great book, no doubt, but it felt to be in the shadow (no pun intended) of the previous novel.

The plot was pretty good, as I stated previously.  There were many twists and turns, and there were many moments where I was literally gasping for air.  There was some action, which was great; there was character development, which was great; it was pretty well-thought out, and I enjoyed the plot.

Once again, I felt Rose to be more likeable than before, which is great.  I remember that at the start of the series I disliked Rose; although I don’t love Rose, I sort of like her now.  She’s more likeable, more respectable, in my opinion.  I personally hate how Lissa always seems to be shafted off to the sides; at times, sure, Lissa acts pretty selfishly, but I think Rose is much more selfish than Lissa.  At times she really annoys me with her selfishness and arrogance, but for the most part she’s bearable.

Adrian was once again present, and has established himself as one of the main characters, with a major link to Lissa.  Christian was back to his stuck up, arrogant, tough-guy self, which I prefer over his weak persona.

I have to put it out there – I find Rose’s romance with Dimitri to be absolutely disgusting.  She’s what, 18, and he’s so much older than her.  It’s quite icky.  Overall, however, I quite enjoyed reading Shadow Kiss.  It wasn’t by any shot a bad book, but I felt it was just overshadowed by Frostbite in a plethora of ways.  It was good, just not great, unfortunately.

Rating: 3.5/5

Author: Josh

Josh is a third year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies, while concurrently studying a Diploma of Languages in Spanish. He enjoys eating crepes, sitting in the sun, reading, and listening to music.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Shadow Kiss (Richelle Mead)

  1. It’s today, actually. :S

    Josh, just wanted to thank you for staying true to the blogging world around you. You make the effort to come round and send a comment whenever you can. Me? Not so much. I can feel that my own little world will come to an end soon.

    Thanks for being a mate! 😀 You also bring in the most traffic to my blog with a total of 247 clicks! 😀

  2. Well that’s awkward 😛

    Nawwww, thanks Phi :3 That’s, like, the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me regarding blogging :] :] You’re the best! Don’t feel bad for not being able to comment much: things are different now, with school being the priority and whatnot. You do what you can, and that’s all that matters :]

  3. Joshness!!! Where have you been? I miss you 😦

    I was a little scared to read your review in case of spoilers since I haven’t gotten around to Shadow Kiss yet, although I did read your final paragraph!
    Unfortunately you didn’t like it as much as Frostbite, but such is the way with sequels, or so it appears. I guess it’s pretty hard to live up to the original phenomenon sometimes. Ah well.

    I’m not too fussed on the age gap in Rose and Dimitri’s relationship – I’m all for whatever floats your boat. But I just don’t see what they ‘see’ in one another? I mean, I’m only up to Frostbite, so maybe they tone it up a key in Shadow Kiss, but from what I’ve read I really don’t find Dimitri swoon-worthy whatsoever. It has nothing to do with his age… he just… doesn’t do it for me I guess.

  4. Could you do a book review of ‘Blood Promise’?
    I mean, if you have read it ^_^
    K Thanks.

  5. @InternationalGirl; I actually borrowed Blood Promise, Spirit Bound and Last Sacrifice – from the friend who convinced me to read the series – about two weeks ago, and they’re currently sitting on my bookshelf. Unfortunately there are still a few more books I want to read before tackling the rest of the VA series, but as soon as I do read it, I’ll be sure to post a review :] Thanks for your comment.

  6. Okay, that’s cool(:
    Thanks. ^____~

Share your thoughts!

