Tinted Lens ~

See the world through my eyes

Book Review: The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)

6 Comments

'The Hunger Games', Suzanne Collins

‘The Hunger Games’ is the first book in ‘The Hunger Games’ trilogy, preceding ‘Catching Fire’ and ‘Mockingjay’.

I really honestly have no idea where to start regarding this review.  I could just say ‘The Hunger Games was amazing’ and that could be it; it’s as if whatever I say can’t do this book justice.  But I’ll try my best.

In the ruins of what was once North America lies Panem.  Divided into twelve districts, with the shimmering Capitol leading the way for the nation, Panem is peaceful.  Or so Katniss thought.  Dozens of years ago, the districts rebelled against the Capitol, and as a symbol of their power, each and every year the Capitol hold this little thing called the Hunger Games.  Two children – Tributes – from each district, one boy and one girl, are thrust into a surprise area – forest, mountains, wasteland – and they battle to the death on live television.  The winning tribute earns fame, riches and food for their district.

When Katniss is chosen as the Tribute for her district, she sees it as a death sentence.  Hunting to her is simple, but there are more disturbing, dangerous creatures in the arena.  If Katniss is going to win, she’s going to have to choose between survival and humanity, and love against life.

The Hunger Games were amazing.

The plot was intense.  I’ve said plots were intense many times before.  But The Hunger Games took it to a whole different level.  I was left trembling with anxiety for the characters, turning each page with bated breath.  The plot was like nothing I’ve ever seen before, in terms of content.  It was creative and worked so well.  The descriptions were vivid and amazing.

The characters were absolutely phenomenal.  Katniss was an incredible protagonist.  She was likeable and so different to regular protagonists.  I liked Peeta, too.  The fashion designers, Cinna and co., were marvellous and extremely interesting.  All in all the characters built up the book to be truly memorable.

There was quite a bit of violence in this novel, I’ll give you that.  But the way Suzanne has crafted The Hunger Games left me wanting to read on, unable to look away from the book, even as a character was being mauled by a wolf.  There were many beautiful moments in The Hunger Games, including one that brought me close to tears; it was probably the most beautiful scene I have ever read.  Ever.

And that goes for the whole of this book.  Amazing fails to describe it.  It was the most perfect, beautiful, well-crafted novel I have read in a long time.  In fact, it’s probably the best novel I’ve read, full stop.

Rating: 5/5

Author: Josh

Josh is a third year Bachelor of Arts student majoring in Politics & International Studies and English & Theatre Studies, while concurrently studying a Diploma of Languages in Spanish. He enjoys eating crepes, sitting in the sun, reading, and listening to music.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)

  1. Hey Josh,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Great review. All these rave reviews about The Hunger Games are definately convincing! I actually never heard about it until I saw it was being turned into a movie! It is now on my TBR list!
    Happy blogging 🙂
    Jayne

  2. *drools* I’m so glad you loved it Josh – this series is so amazing! I absolutely cannot wait for the film, although I hope they do it justice.

    Fantastic review, as always. (:

  3. Josh! Are you alive?
    I miss you 😦
    Come back to us!!!

  4. Josh! I haven’t been here in so long! I’m glad to see that you have continued with blogging when so many people quit. And you are truly talented at it too:)

  5. hey big monkey (chad)

Share your thoughts!

